Updates & Eats

Hello everyone! Just thought I’d give you all a brief update on what’s been going on lately.

Work

I started work two weeks ago, as I posted about before, and have been insanely busy trying to establish and good balance of work and other activities. It’s going to take a little while getting used to working full time while also doing some of the more classic Gray Eats Green activities, such as running, cooking, going to marketing, writing this blog, etc. But the good news is, I absolutely love work so far!  I may even started to shift this blog (or create a new one) towards one that showcases and discusses healthy and/or vegan food in Detroit. Only time will tell so stay tuned on that project.

As far as on-job-eats goes, I am very fortunate to work in a company with a couple cafeterias that have pretty great salad bars. 7 Greens Detroit Salad Co. also recently opened up and has been my go-to spot. The “Yoga Girl” salad, which is a mix of kale, spinach, shredded carrots, and roasted beets, brussels, and tofu with a miso dressing and a drizzle of Sriracha is so up my ally. The Zingerman’s spelt bread it is served with is the perfect addition. I love how they emphasize fresh, local ingredients. This place has truly changed the work lunch game in Detroit!

IMG_6582

I also whipped up a big lentil, wheat berry and roasted vegetable salad this past weekend, which I kept in the fridge and mixed with arugula each morning. That lasted me from all the way until Wednesday which was great!

Most mornings I’ve still been enjoying Rip’s Big Bowl cereal for a quick, but filling and nutrient dense breakfast.

Although I haven’t had much time to cook dinners, I am fortunate enough to live at home and my mom has been whipping up a lot of great vegetables, grains and pasta dishes. It’s also been fun going out to dinner with friends in Detroit after work, Wright & Co., Green Dot Stables and Gold Cash Gold have been some spots I’ve tried so far.

Travel

Tomorrow, I will begin my journey with 18 of my other family members to South Africa. This trip has been in the works for a long time and I am a bit nervous, although very excited about this once-in-a-lifetime opportunity.

My goal is to document my experience with the local cuisine and eating vegan while traveling here on the blog. Although I’m not sure what kind of Internet connection I’ll have, I will do my best.

Yesterday, I stocked up on a bunch of plant-based protein bars and made a huge bag of trail mix to take with me on the trip.

Stay tuned for more of my South African adventure!

Leave a Reply

