Thanksgiving 2014 Cooking Recap

Hope everyone had a great Thanksgiving yesterday! I thought I’d give you a little recap of what I made last night. My mom and grandma also made some more traditional Thanksgiving staples but here are my healthy, plant-based and Gray-Eats-Green-approved Thanksgiving contributions.

Vegan Cornbread Muffin recipe adapted from Food52 served with Cranberry-Pear Sauce recipe adapted from Oh She Glows and homemade “honey butter.”
IMG_6298

Curried Butternut Squash Soup with Cashew “Cream” and Fried Sage Leaves. This was a completely original recipe that I will have to post on the blog soon. The soup ended up being a big hit with everyone from my younger sisters to my grandparents and it was nice sitting down to an “appetizer” course, a Thanksgiving first for us.

IMG_6329

Butternut Squash, Brussels Sprout, and Bread Stuffing with Apples recipe adapted from Food52. Made with local, Detroit Avalon Bakery Motown Multigrain Bread.

IMG_6281 IMG_6283IMG_6285 IMG_6287    IMG_6288 IMG_6326

Here is a look my Thanksgiving plate. Salad with roasted asparagus and maple mustard dressing, a baked sweet potato, a corn bread muffin with honey butter, cranberry sauce and stuffing.

IMG_6332

Good luck to anyone participating in Black Friday Shopping today and enjoy your Thanksgiving leftovers!

Leave a Reply

