Belated Link Up

Happy Friday! There is a certain vibe on Friday that you just won’t get any other day of the week, something about having the entire weekend ahead of you. Even though in reality it is yet another weekday, I think I enjoy Fridays more than I enjoy Saturdays and Sundays. What is your favorite Friday tradition?

I apologize for the belated Monday Link Up, I hope it hasn’t effected anyone too much and you’ve been able to sleep at night (just kidding.) Things have been slightly busy around here and I haven’t had time to sit down and gather articles to share with you. But I finally got my act together, and without further ado…

Belated “Monday Link Up”

1. Did you hear the news, Israel is the Vegan Capital of the World! I love this article because Israel and veganism are both things near and dear to my heart and this is a nice, informative read about how the number of vegans in Israel has skyrocketed, with 4% of the population now considering themselves vegan. Maybe its because Israeli cuisine has some of the most delicious vegan options in the world? Falafel and hummus anyone?

2. I really enjoyed reading about veganism, dating and relationships on Well + Good NYC, and I proceeded to read the Lusty Vegan book that this article was talking about. A couple days later, one of my favorite bloggers, Gena Hamshaw of Choosing Raw co-authored a post with her boyfriend about the same topic. It is certainly interesting how eating style can affect relationships, and not just romantic ones, I have given some thought to how family, friends and co-workers can apply to this topic as well.

Vegetarian_Dating

3. How Cooking Can Change Your Life on MindBodyGreen gives some great tips to start getting into the kitchen and making cooking for yourself more of a mindful process. I have noticed a huge different in how I feel (and how I look) when I cook at home for myself instead of going out. Sure you may thing you are eating  healthy when going out, but most restaurant, take-out and prepared food is laced with excess oil, sugar and salt that you just wouldn’t put into your home cooked food. No matter what you cook at home, it is usually healthier than the restaurant alternative. My nutrition school, The Institute for Integrative Nutrition, really emphasizes cooking at home as a way to connect with what you are eating and spread love through your food.

4. I first heard about this study earlier this week on Good Morning America, but then read about it again on the New York Times website; Exercising but Gaining Weight. What I generally concluded from this topic is that exercise has little correlation with whether or not you loose or gain weight and other factors, primarily diet, play a much bigger role. I’ve heard that as a general rule of thumb, weight loss is 70% diet and 30% exercise. If you are eating whatever you want, exercise isn’t going to make that much of a difference. This is definitely a topic I will continue to explore because I believe it will be important when I eventually start to work with clients as a health coach.

5. And finally, as Holiday Season looms upon us, I know this is a time where some people may struggle with staying on track. Have no fear, the Uncommon Guide to Avoid Holiday Weight Gain by Summer Tomato is here! Darya Rose, the blogger over at Summer Tomato, writes a lot about diet, weight loss and weight maintenance. Unlike much of the other stuff I read, she focuses less on the food and more on the habits surrounding the food. This “guide” is a must read for anyone who tends to get derailed during the holiday season and wants to stay on track this year!

That’s all for now! Hope everyone has a wonderful and relaxing weekend, I will be back on Monday with more links and hopefully a recipe or two!

Leave a Reply

