World Vegan Day

World Vegan Day

Happy World Vegan Day! I honestly had no idea this day existed until I checked Twitter this morning and was greeted with quite a few #WorldVeganDay hashtags from some of my favorite vegans.

With Vegan Month of Food in September, National Kale Day last month and now World Vegan Day, it seems as if we can hardly go any time at all without celebrating this lifestyle.

Although these “holidays” seem common place for people like me, who are very in tune with the vegan community and who are connected with social media and other digital technology, not actually many people know about them. I think it is important that we continue to raise awareness about these celebratory days and months because even getting people to make a small change, such as going meatless one day a week, will have an impact on their health and their planet.

Top 10 List

As many of you know, The No Meat Athlete, also known as Matt Frazier is one of my favorite bloggers and influences in both the vegan and running worlds. He once put out a list of The 17 Weirdest Things I Do Now That I’m A Vegan. Since today is World Vegan Day, I’m going to follow Matt’s lead with a Weird Vegan list of my own. So, without further ado, in no particular order…

The Top 10 Weird Things I’ve Started Doing Since Becoming Vegan

1. Attend vegan festivals and speaking engagements

With so few vegans out there, its fun when a bunch of them unite. I’ve even dragged a few skeptical friends to these events and they ended up loving it.

2. Brew my own Kombucha

You may have heard of a S.C.O.B.Y., but have you ever seen a Symbiotic Culture of Bacterial Yeast?

3. Eat salads out of giant mixing bowls

My salads have become too big for a normal sized bowl and why dirty a plate?

4. Make my own salad dressing

I usually whip up an oil free dressing each week. Packaged salad dressings have been out for a while and oil + vinegar just doesn’t cut it anymore.

5. Read a bunch of vegan non-fiction and listen to Podcasts

I just can’t seem to take in enough information on the subject.

6. Run with Medjool dates in my SPIbelt for natural energy 

Gels and goos are much too artificial.

7. Order a side of toast and a side of avocado at restaurants to make my own “avocado toast”

A surprisingly great option at brunch spots. Your waitress and dining mates may look at at you a little weird, but then will proceed to understand and get jealous once you have whipped up your masterpiece.

8. Grow my own kale, collards and herbs

I started gardening a couple of summer ago. There is something to be said about stepping into the backyard for a pinch of basil.

9.  Eat an obscene amount of vegetables

When you turn the vegetables into the main, you’re gonna need a lot.

10. Put vegetables in my desserts

Chickpea “cookie bars,” sweet potato “brownies” and avocado “pudding” and “frosting” are surprisingly delicious and a great way to sneak in yet another serving of veggies.

What are some “weird” things you’ve started doing since becoming vegan? Please share in the comments section!

Leave a Reply

