Recipe: Adzuki Beans with Kabocha Squash

This is a recipe I have been loving lately.

I was first introduced to the work of Alicia Silverstone during the introductory lesson of the Institute for Integrative Nutrition. You know who I’m talking about, the former clueless star turned radical vegan. While I admit her speech was a little extreme, I definitely picked up what she was putting down and really enjoyed her vibe.

The day after I felt a connection with her speech, I was on the Forks Over Knives recipe page and Alicia Silverstone had just posted a recipe! Talk about synchronicity! The recipe featured kabocha squash, so I knew I had to make it immediately. While this particular variety of winter squash is not as widely available as acorn or butternut, the flavor, texture and health promoting properties are absolutely out of this world, so I suggest you get your hands on one ASAP if you haven’t already (Trader Joes just started carrying them this season.)

This recipe also stars the adzuki bean, which comes with a whole host of health properties of its own. Adzuki beans are well known in Traditional Chinese Medicine for their healing properties, they are also said to be the most “yang,” or warming, of all the beans according to macrobiotic diet theories.

The recipe calls for the beans to be soaked and boiled with kombu, a nutritional sea vegetable that contains enzymes which assist in making beans easier to digest. You can find kombu in most health food stores or Asian markets.

You can find the link to the recipe here!

Adzuki Beans with Kabocha Squash from Alicia Silverstone and Forks Over Knives

Screen Shot 2014-10-19 at 2.56.16 PMScreen Shot 2014-10-19 at 2.56.37 PM

Although the recipe calls for the squash to be boiled in with the beans, the second and third time I made this, I roasted the squash on a lightly olive-oiled pan with a little sea salt for about 30 minutes on 400°F. I find the flavor and texture of the squash is truly enhanced when roasted vs. boiled. I also used Bragg’s Liquid Aminos instead of soy sauce and enjoyed this dish served atop brown rice.

IMG_5589

Thats all for now, hope everyone has a relaxing Sunday!

Leave a Reply

