Vegan Month of Food: Oil Free Dressing Roundup & Yummy Oil Free Dessert

Happy Friday Everyone!

Today is the final Friday in the Vegan Month of Food, so I thought I’d hit you with a recipe roundup and a delicious dessert recipe that can be found all over the Internet but I tweaked to make my own.

As I mentioned in a previous post, when I watched Forks Over Knives and Engine 2 Plant Rescue, in addition to receiving the FOK cookbook and reading some of Joel Furman, T. Collin Campbell and Caldwell Esselstyn’s work I become more and more interested in using less oil in my diet.

The science just made so much sense to me, I could eat MORE of the good stuff, thus getting my carbohydrates, protein, and fat from health plant based sources, and eating a ton more nutrients, while still maintaining (or even lessening) my calorie intake.

The most difficult thing to make without oil by far is salad dressings, but once you know a few basic go-to oil-free dressing recipes, I think you will find that you enjoy them far better than their oily counter parts.

Now on to dessert…

This may be one of the easiest ways to get rid of your overripe bananas.

Banana Oat Clusters

You will need:

  • 2 overripe bananas
  • 2 cups of rolled oats (gluten-free optional)
  • a handful of chocolate chips, dried cherries, chopped walnuts, etc.
  1. Preheat oven to 350F
  2. Mash 2 overripe bananas in a large bowl (you can use more but then the amount of your other ingredients will increase as well)
  3. Add 2 cups of oats to the mashed bananas and mix well
  4. Add in the handful of chocolate chips and whatever other mix-ins you would like (all optional)
  5. Spray a cookie sheet with coconut oil spray (or any over kind of your choosing)
  6. Using an ice cream scooper, or large spoon, put little balls of banana oat clusters on the cookie sheet
  7. Bake for 15 minutes or until just slightly brown on top
  8. Let cool and enjoy!
Leave a Reply

