First Day of Fall Vegan Butternut Squash Hummus

Happy First Day of Fall! No matter the weather in your location, I’m sure most of you have cracked open your first can of pumpkin by now and bitten into your first honey crisp apple. But I am here to discuss one of my favorite aspects of fall; squash.

You know when you walk into a grocery store and you see those big funny looking things on display by the pumpkins? And you think to yourself either A. that would be nice home decor or B. what planet did that thing come from?

Well last fall I made it my mission to dive headfirst into the wonderful world of squash.

Before last fall I had only ever experienced spaghetti and butternut, but last season I made it my mission to try each and every type of winter squash. I tried delicata, acorn, kabocha, and of course butternut and spaghetti. This year I am upping the anti and going even more squash crazy!

I thought I’d kick off the official start of the season with some smokey butternut hummus inspired by Connoisseurus Veg.

I started off by cutting a butternut squash in half, spraying it with some olive oil and sprinkling it with some sea salt. I put it facedown on a cutting board and baked it on 350F for 45-60min (until soft).

I scraped out the squash and put it in my vitamix with a can of drained and rinsed organic chickpeas, 2 tbs. tahini, 2 tbs. lemon juice, a drop of liquid smoke (optional), and sea salt, cumin and smoked paprika to taste. I started the blender and drizzled in olive oil to get everything started.

Once everything is moving, blend until smooth and add olive oil and seasonings to taste.

So delicious on veggies, crackers or straight out of the Vitamix with a spoon 😉

Happy Squash Season!

IMG_5308

Leave a Reply

