Why I Love Mornings

As a self proclaimed “morning person,” mornings are clearly my favorite time of day. Most of the population may find this hard to believe but mornings have some serious benefits and perks that the rest of the day just can’t offer.

My ultimate favorite thing about the morning is the feeling that you are getting things done before the rest of the population even gets out of bed. Often times, I feel like I have two mornings per day, the first one by myself and the second one with my family, friends or co-workers.

That’s the other beauty of the morning; quiet, interrupted, alone time. Due to the fact that most people aren’t awake yet, there is no one up to interrupt you. I find the mornings to be great for just some relaxing “me time” if nothing else. Mornings are also the perfect time to take care of business, interruption free. Whether it be a getting in a workout, studying, writing, reading or working, mornings are an excellent time to bang out some crucial things on your to-do list. Once you have that workout in or that deadline met, you can relax and enjoy the rest of your day without something pressing hanging over your head. 

Another reason why I love mornings is breakfast. If you have a good functioning metabolism and aren’t snacking late at night, you should normally be hungry in the mornings. I usually wake up ravenous and breakfast is my favorite meal of the day. I enjoy properly fueling my body to take on the day and breaking cuisine is some of my favorite. My breakfast usually consists of a green smoothie of some sort, oatmeal with various toppings, Rip’s Big Bowl, or Ezekiel toast with nut butter.

But, before breakfast, I always start my day with a large glass of water and a little splash of apple cider vinegar. I have been doing this for about 5 years now and I really find that this “elixir” helps to alkalize my body and stay on track for the rest of the day. Even if I am out of town or don’t have access to apple cider vinegar, I make sure to chug a large glass or two of water upon waking in order to hydrate my body.  

Coffee is yet another reason why I love mornings. Coffee is a contradictory beverage amongst the health community, but I find that if I stick to one mug of high quality coffee a day (before 10am so the caffeine will not affect my sleep) with a little bit of almond or hemp milk, I tend to feel best. Often I will go on a week or so “coffee cleanse” just to make sure I don’t become dependent. But coffee adds a calming and soothing feeling to my morning and I love enjoying a mug of it while reading, writing or getting work done. Coffee shops, especially those local ones with a “hipster” feel are some of my favorite places to relax, hang out and get work done. 

Meditation is something I have recently been trying to get into. I find that it can be beneficial at any time of day, but if you are awake enough it makes a very nice start to the morning. Even if its just breathing and setting your intentions for the day for five minutes, meditation can have a powerful effect in the mornings.

I personally love morning workouts, but some people’s bodies are just designed to thrive best in the afternoon. So although morning workouts are great for some, when it comes to working out, it is best to find the time of day that feels best for you and go with it.

What is a crucial part of your morning routine? What would you like to adopt as part of your morning routine? 

Leave a Reply

