Vegan Month of Food Recipe: Ratatouille

ratatouille-production-stills-ratatouille-1847049-1902-2560

Recipe development is very new to me. Often times when I am cooking, I tend to just add a little of this and a little of that so by the end of my cooking session I have no idea what the recipe consists of! Due to the fact that I am trying to be better about blogging and creating meaningful content that people will enjoy, I am going to share a recipe for one of my favorites, vegan ratatouille. I have made this so many times that I’m pretty sure I have got the hang of what the “recipe” consist of. Ratatouille is one of my favorite meals, it makes for a great winter or summer dish because it is both light and comforting. It is very versatile and can be eaten over pasta, spaghetti squash, rice or quinoa, or just plain! I also love it as leftovers the next day. Each batch is slightly different depending on the produce you have in stock, but here is my basic recipe:

1 tablespoon of olive oil

1 yellow or sweet onion

1 red bell pepper

2 medium sized tomatoes of your choice

2 zucchini 

1 large or 2 small eggplant 

1 cup of marinara sauce 

salt and pepper to taste

(for a twist this time, I threw in a handful of each green beans and yellow wax beans because they were local and in season at the grocery store)

Directions:

-Start off by cutting the eggplant and soaking it in salt water to take away the “bitter” flavor

-While the eggplant is soaking, heat up olive oil in a large pan

-Chop the onion and sauté it in the olive oil until it starts to get soft and translucent, add a little salt

-Chop up the red pepper and throw it in with the onion, stir 

-If you are using green beans or yellow wax beans, add them in now because they take a little while to break down 

-Chop the tomatoes and add it to the pan

-Rinse the eggplant, chop it and at it to the pan

-Chop the zucchini and add it to the pan

-Add the marinara sauce to the pan, cover it for about 10-15 minutes, simmer and let everything soften up

-Uncover and cook for a little while longer, until ratatouille is cooked to your liking

-Add salt and pepper to your liking

-Enjoy! 

IMG_5089

Finished product served along side roasted curried cauliflower and brown rice cooked in homemade marinara.  

Leave a Reply

