Day 1: Inn Season Café

It took a few days to start my 21-days-in-a-row blogging challenge, but here we go with day one.

Today I had lunch with one of my fellow healthy foodie friends at one of my favorite vegan/vegetarian restaurants in town, Inn Season Café. This little spot in Royal Oak, Michigan has been around since the 1980s. It’s still one of the few vegetarian restaurants around.

Since going vegan, this is my second time dining at Inn Season. The menu is awesome and extensive with so many great options that it’s hard to choose. I loved what I had so much the first time I was there this summer, that I decided to order it again! I went with the Macro Combo; which is a huge platter of brown rice, steamed kale, sea vegetable, and your chose of tofu, tempeh or adzuki beans (chose tempeh) served with coleslaw and shiitake-miso sauce (which I subbed tahini dressing for.)

IMG_4650

Once again, the Macro combo did not disappoint. The tempeh is perfectly crusted with garlic and herbs, the brown rice is some of the best I’ve tasted in my life and where can I buy that sea-vegetable!? As our waitress said, “this is our healthiest dish, but certainty does not lack flavor.” The café has such an awesome vibe. The staff is friendly (unlike many vegan places around town) and knows their stuff!

This plate got me interested in the concept of macrobiotics, exactly what “macro” means and how to make my own macro plate so I’ve been doing some research. I found a couple macro bowls that I’d like to make myself so perhaps I’ll make one within the next week or so.

Until next time!

Leave a Reply

