13.1 Training

Happy Tuesday! This week marked the beginning of my official half marathon training plan. While I have been trying to keep up with exercise and stay in good shape since the end of December, yesterday was the first day on my 12-month training plan calendar.

I adapted a 12-week training plan from one of my more recent favorite bloggers, the No Meat Athlete, Matt Frazier. After stumbling upon his blog a few months ago, I really picked up what he put down so to speak and I began listening to his Podcast and eventually bought his new book “The No Meat Athlete” on Amazon.

The book is great, lots of useful information about eating a vegan diet as an athlete. There are also two different training plans for half marathons, the “To Finish” plan and the “For Fitness” plan. After completing my first half marathon in June 2012 with the goal of just finishing, I want to increase my speed and aim to set a personal record this time around.

I adapted the “For Fitness” plan to best fit my schedule. I signed up for the Lansing Half Marathon on May 4th, 2014. I am really excited to be running my second half marathon in my college town during my graduation! I think this will be a great way to go out with a bang!

Keep following my training and progress right here on the Super Foodie!

Leave a Reply

